Lovely bunch of coconuts as treat (WPC : Treat)

The photo was taken few years ago at Hikkaduwa beach in Sri Lanka.  On a hot summer day king coconut water is heavenly. The coconut water is  sweet and healthy and a wonderful re-hydrant.

King Coconut is native to Sri Lanka and referred as  “Sev -izhanheer” in Tamil and Thembilli in Sinhala.

King coconut water - A Heavenly Thirst Quencher

King coconut water – A Heavenly Thirst Quencher

At this  juncture, lets reminisce an old song “I got a  lovely bunch of coconuts” composed in 1944 by Fred Heatherton. The re-make of the song in 1950, sung by the vocalist Merv Griffin with the Freddy Martin and his Orchestra  was in top 10 hit in the USA and sold 3 million copies. Hope you will enjoy the number as I did.

This entry In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Treat.”

10 thoughts on “Lovely bunch of coconuts as treat (WPC : Treat)

  1. Wow. I am a musician and have never heard this song. Also, I did not know Merv Griffin had done this type of thing. All I know of him is his talk show when I was a kid. Wow…interesting. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I love coconuts and love drinking coconut water. It certainly is refreshing for a hot day and I hope you had some on your trip to Sri Lanka 🙂 I also like coconut milk too. Didn’t know there was a coconut song. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a comment